afterglow

The afterglow is waring off.

Getting my autism diagnosis relieved me of the ‘what’ I’d been searching for, but not the ‘how.’ And it’s hitting me. Hard.

Late-diagnosed autism is a jagged little pill.

I spent the last 37 years tirelessly learning how to be the me the world wanted me to be to needing to learn how to be the me I was meant to be all along and feeling too tired do it.

Cue Alanis Morissette: Isn’t it ironic?

As Jung says, “There is no coming to consciousness without pain.”

I am fortunate to have the loving support of my husband, children, and others, plus my therapist to help me face this dark unknown of the ‘how.’ I’m tired. I’m scared. But I’m ready.

(text: “The place of true healing is a fierce place. It’s a giant place. It’s a place of monstrous beauty and endless dark and glimmering light. And you have to work really, really, really hard to get there, but you can do it.” ~Cheryl Strayed)

Leave a comment